Day 3 – Let thy food be thy medicine

Standard

It’s day 3 of Vikasa’s Teacher’s Training Course and I guess the intensity must be catching up with some of us. At the 2 hour break we have in between theory and evening practice, a lot of my fellow yogi-in-training (I am going to refer to them as YITs) passed on trips to Chaweng or Lamai for a power nap instead. I on the other hand got a much needed massage on my shoulders and back at the massage place from across the street. A 60min shoulder and back massage comes up to 300 bhat. Some of the YITs were saying you could get something similar for 180 bhat in the Chaweng but I figured with the cab fare to and fro it would’ve worked out the same.

In theory class we discussed about food. So many things came out of it, from Sattvic diet, to organic food to raw diet and fasting. It was useful to have a lot of us contributing our own knowledge to the class and others to bring up very important and valid questions.

I went around Vikasa during breaks to try to snap as many photos as possible before the sun got up too high. And these are what I got:

View from the shala

Chilling out by the pool during breaks

 

The first 2 teachers from the TTC lineup – Kosta, owner of Vikasa and George

The view from the top point of Vikasa before morning practice begins

 

2 responses »

  1. Totally agree with you Marie. I had heard a lot of people saying that the university nutrition graduate programs rarely covers the importance of nutrients for healing too. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. I totally agree that food should be our medicine. A great example is tendinitis. I’ve beenrecovering from it for a while and the theory is that you need to get blood flowing through the area, nutrient rich blood… But ironically they never tell you to improve your diet. My thinking has been that to get nutrient rich blood moving through, we need to be getting nutrients into our body! Hence, I try to eat as many fruits and vegetables as possible. I find it to be working.

Leave a Reply

