Let thy food be thy medicine

Standard

Happy New Year everyone! I have been down with the flu and mild cough over the last few days so I have been upping on the garlic and vitamin C supplements these past few days. My grandmother who was over at my parents noticed that I was sneezing and sniffling about made a comment on taking a famous flu medicine. Of course my mum, who always magically happen to be there all the time chipped in and said “but didn’t you know, she’s the last person to take any drugs in this house”.

Hippocrates once said “let thy food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food”. And this is true, but one must also be realistic to know that most natural medicine require time to work due to its accumulative effect that some may argue to be more gentle towards our system. Additionally, it is also worth mentioning that supplements that provide isolated elements like Vitamin C in the form of ascorbic acid, or even chelated Iron is not something I would personally consider natural. Yes they are not drugs per se, but anything that is consumed outside of its natural form demands a few thoughts and debates before accepting it as ‘natural’.

I am a big fan of experimentation in the kitchen especially on food and its benefits to our health. Just the other day, in an effort to get better in time for New Years Eve (I was quite adamant not to have to spend NYE being sick in the house!), I chopped up 4-5 cloves of garlic, let it sit in a few tablespoons of olive oil for 10-15 minutes to allow the flavors to infuse into the oil, and scooped it on a few slices of sourdough bread before popping it into the oven for another 15 minutes. The result? Yummy toasted slices of garlic bread sans the dairy and saturated fat.

But why garlic?

  • Garlic contains a compound known as allicin which is both anti-bacterial and anti-viral
  • Eating garlic boost the body’s natural ability to produce hydrogen sulfide
  • or as a New York Times journalist hypothesized “perhaps people who consume enough garlic simply repel others, and thus steer clear of their germs”

Did it helped to rid me off my flu? Well I am still sniffling but the fever and the aches are gone. The garlic itself could not possibly have helped on its own at such a short space of time, but in conjunction with massive amounts of Vitamin C and yes, some flu medicine only because I did not want to ride it through the NYE and watch fireworks from my balcony by myself, I believe it has supported and shortened the recovery time.

There are many, many literature floating around the internet on food and its specific role in healing. A favorite of mine is the Food Matters resource website which I have also placed as a link on the right bar. The Food Matters DVD is also a must-watch, and one of the most valuable food-health related video to get you on the path of healthy eating. Curious on what is inside the DVD? Watch the preview below 🙂

2 responses »

  1. I am in an interesting position as a 4th year Pharmacy student. As I approach graduation I realize that I have a complete lack of knowledge in something extremely critical to health: Nutrition. Can you believe it? I know all about disease and drugs and how medical professionals approach treating people with chronic conditions. But, the basics of what keep us alive? Not so much… As a huge believer in preventative medicine I am now actively seeking knowledge in nutrition and ways to help people live healthier lives BEFORE they end up in the hospital… Thanks for posting!

    • Hi Fitness Phoenix! If you ever have the chance to get your hands on the Food Matters DVD it would be really great. It mentions exactly what you have written above – about the predicament on American medical professionals in their approach to disease management. I think one of speakers mentioned that doctors are great at putting people back together (i.e broken bones, facial reconstruction, etc) but are not so intuitive when it comes to nutrition and its purpose on healing. There is also another DVD documenting a group of people with Diabetes (Type I and II) going through this 1mth sort of retreat where they were fed with completely raw based diet and exercises with astonishing results at the end of the 1 mth. I hope you will get a chance to watch either of these valuable documentaries! 🙂

Leave a Reply

